Wednesday, June 9, 2010

Define the CMYK Colors

Have you ever glanced at the CMYK codes on the printer ink cartridges? While other printers have the RGB colors, most printers carry the CMYK inks which are special letters that stand for the colors each cartridge defines. Here are some fun trivia about this code that may matter for some who have noticed it.

1. CMYK is made up of four colors.

CMYK defines a printing process while also giving meaning to the four colors of a certain cartridge. These colors are known as cyan, magenta, yellow, and black key plate. The last letter does not originate from the letter “K” in black but from the key plate which sets an alignment for the black and the other colors.

2. The black ink is not a result of the other colors.

The black ink is always different from the other colored inks which use it to darken the colors needed in a material. When a printer uses the other colors to make black, this is a really great waste on the cartridges and money as well. The black ink also saves on using other inks since it is the most economical color.

3. CMYK is a subtractive color type.

This color model limits the brightness made by the color white. It either takes over a little or even fully the light parts to create greater colors. It also provides more colors to choose from.

4. CMYK applies halftoning.

Halftoning, also known as screening, offers a wide range of colors from the basic to the theme types. CMYK gives a user the chance to experiment on different colors which are not available in other color models.

Next time you spot your ink cartridge with the code CMYK, you already have learned how helpful this product can be on your printing needs.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...